Meeting Notes from Large Group Gatherings

(Note this is a new feature as of December 2016)

Archives


12/11/2016 (Sun) Ransoms by Bishop Alan Bassette
12/18/2016 (Sun) Maturing Disciples by Benjamin D. Arazu
12/21/2016 (Wed) Knowing Who We Are and Who Christ Is by Benjamin D. Arazu
12/25/2016 (Sun) Having a Plan by Wayne Engram and follow up by Benjamin D. Arazu
12/28/2016 (Wed) Study the Word Daily by Brother Benjamin D. Arazu
12/28/2016 (Wed) How Do I Go About a 21 Day Fast? A conversation between pastor and brother
01/01/2017 (Sun) Three Things We Need to Do in 2017 by Benjamin D. Arazu
01/08/2017 (Sun) Who Is Christ? By Pastor Andrew Traub
01/15/2017 (Sun) Things About Grace by Benjamin D. Arazu
01/15/2017 (Sun) Be Knowledgeable in the Word of God and Avoid False Doctrine by Martin Parker with follow up by Benjamin Arazu
01/18/2017 (Wed) Importance of Understanding by Benjamin D. Arazu
01/22/2017 (Sun) Importance of Holy Communion by Benjamin D. Arazu
01/22/2017 (Sun) Importance of Learning by Benjamin D. Arazu
01/25/2017 (Wed) The Identity of Believers by Benjamin D. Arazu
01/29/2017 (Sun) How to Avoid Panicking by Benjamin D. Arazu
02/01/2017 (Wed) The Danger of Religion by Benjamin D. Arazu
02/08/2017 (Wed) The Love of God by Benjamin D. Arazu
02/12/2017 (Sun) Keep the Fire Burning by Wayne Engram with followup by Benjamin D. Arazu
02/15/2017 (Wed) Faithlessness and Discouragement by Bishop Alan Bassette
02/19/2017 (Sun) Bless the Lord by Wayne Engram with followup by Benjamin D. Arazu
02/26/2017 (Sun) The Great Commission by Benjamin D. Arazu
02/26/2017 (Sun) Children's Time: The Blood of Christ by Martin Parker
03/05/2017 (Sun) How to Follow the spirit of God by Benjamin D. Arazu
03/12/2017 (Sun) Knowing the Love of Christ by Benjamin D. Arazu
03/19/2017 (Sun) Walking in God's Love by Benjamin D. Arazu
03/26/2017 (Sun) It is Finished! by Brother Wayne Engram
04/02/2017 (Sun) When did the old covenant end and the new covenant begin? By Benjamin D. Arazu
04/05/2017 (Wed) The Law Written on Our Hearts is not the Ten Commandments by Benjamin D. Arazu
04/09/2017 (Sun) What is the Law Written on Our Hearts? By Benjamin D. Arazu
04/16/2017 (Sun) The Resurrection is a Person, Not a One Day Event by Benjamin D. Arazu
04/23/2017 (Sun) Audio Recording on YouTube entitled 'Activating Prophecy' by Benjamin D. Arazu
04/23/2017 (Sun) The Man in Christ is Fully Forgiven by Brother Wayne Engram
04/30/2017 (Sun) The Man in Christ is a New Man by Martin Parker based on inspiration from Benjamin Arazu
05/07/2017 (Sun) What is Life? By Benjamin D. Arazu
05/14/2017 (Sun) Biblical Definition of Life (continued) by Benjamin D. Arazu
05/14/2017 (Sun) Who is a mother? By Vivian Mommy" Arazu"
05/24/2017 (Wed) "Spirit of Faith" Notes and YouTube Video by Benjamin D. Arazu
05/28/2017 (Sun) Revival is Coming by 3 Guest Presenters
06/04/2017 (Sun) The Spirit of Faith (continued) - The Law of Faith (Notes and YouTube Video) by Benjamin D. Arazu
06/07/2017 (Wed) Spirit of Faith - Prayer in Faith (Notes and YouTube Video) by Benjamin D. Arazu
06/11/2017 (Sun) Spirit of Faith - Prayer in Faith Part 2 (Notes and YouTube Video) by Benjamin D. Arazu
06/14/2017 (Wed) Supernatural Manifestations by Benjamin D. Arazu
06/18/2017 (Sun) (Blessings of) Seeking the Face of God by Benjamin D. Arazu
06/21/2017 (Wed) Spirit of Faith - Releasing Faith Through Prayer by Benjamin D. Arazu
06/25/2017 (Sun) Culture of a Strong Church, a Culture of Prayer by Benjamin D. Arazu
06/28/2017 (Wed) How to Ask Things in Prayer by Benjamin D. Arazu
07/02/2017 (Sun) Worship is an Important Part of Prayer; Pray in Two Dimensions. by Wayne Engram with followup by Benjamin D. Arazu
07/12/2017 (Wed) Two Dimensions to Prayer (cont) by Benjamin D. Arazu
07/16/2017 (Sun) Two Dimensions of Prayer Review and Essence of Godly Knowledge by Benjamin D. Arazu
07/23/2017 (Sun) Believers are taught to know and not to become by Benjamin D. Arazu
07/26/2017 (Wed) Essence of Godly Knowledge by Benjamin D. Arazu
07/30/2017 (Sun) Essence of Godly Knowledge (continued) by Benjamin D. Arazu
03/11/2018 (Sun) Know Your Nature by Benjamin Arazu
03/18/2018 (Sun) Spiritual Growth by Benjamin D. Arazu
04/01/2018 (Sun) Benefits of Resurrection by Benjamin D. Arazu
06/03/2018 (Sun) Righteousness - an ingredient to Spiritual Growth by Vivienna Arazu
07/01/2018 (Sun) Leading of the Spirit by Benjamin D. Arazu
09/16/2018 (Sun) Spiritual Warfare: Importance of Meditation by Benjamin D. Arazu

Date: 12/18/2016

Presenter: Benjamin D. Arazu

Title: Maturing Disciples

Notes:

Today Pastor Benjamin talked about Maturing Disciples. Maturing comes not from wishful thinking but rather you must get yourself into it.

He talked about the effects of the gospel and that one will not enjoy the benefits of knowing Christ without the gospel. Gospel is the power of God (see Romans 1:16) It has the power to change lives. Believe and be changed. The truth will set you free.

Salvation is not just about the forgiveness of sins, it also has to do with freedom from oppression from the enemy. (Colossians 1:12-13) Salvation is not just being saved from sin, but being delivered from oppression from the devil. Everyone who walks with God should not be afraid.

Power of God? (Romans 1:16) Revelation of righteousness without the law is revealed (Romans 3:21). For God to heal and deliver you there must be a personal relationship. (Romans 1:17) Righteousness of God is revealed from faith - this gives everyone access to God - it is no longer just the Israelite that has this access. For instance, the gentiles were not required to be circumcised in order gain access to this.

Righteousness without the law? (Romans 3:21 again) We are talking about the law of Israel. Except where told otherwise in the New Testament, we no longer need to celebrate the feasts, these were rituals that were looking towards the coming of Christ. (side note: Christ tells us to remember the Passover so this would be an example of the old laws that translate into the New Testament).

He then discussed Pentecost (Acts 2:1) coming after the wave offering (Leviticus 23:15 and Deuteronomy 16:9) and having to do with the harvest. The Holy Ghost is a reality - God poured out his spirit on Pentecost. (Acts 20:16) Pentecost is celebrated in Israel, even up to this day. It is a time when everyone who is Jewish is gathered together. When the Pentecost came, they didn't experience what they used to experience (Acts 2:2) rather they found a new way to worship - righteousness without the law. (Acts 2:3-5) Everybody who was part of the Jewish nation came together at this time in Jerusalem (Acts 2:6-8) and everyone heard them speak in their own language and accused them of being drunk (Acts 2:14-15) but this was prophecy that was spoke of from the book of Joel (Acts 2:16) (side note: the receiving of the Holy Ghost).

Righteousness Revealed - how? (Colossians 1:4) By faith in Christ Jesus (gives us an assurance of salvation - not just the power to heal sickness). The strongest and most characteristic part of a child of God is their faith in Christ Jesus. Trust God for everything, faith is in Jesus.

The apostles' doctrine (Acts 2:42) needs to be taught daily. Everyday they are learning about Jesus (Acts 5:42). The best treasure we've ever had is Christ.Need to read your bible daily. You can't be strong in faith if you don't have the knowledge of Jesus. (side note: we get this knowledge by studying the bible, and attending church) (Daniel 11:32) For those that know their God will be strong. If you have faith in Christ (Colossians 1:4) you will not be moved by the challenges of life. (Ephesians 1:15) If you are going to overcome troubles and challenges in life, your faith should be in Christ.

In Acts 3:1-4 the disciples look on a man who was begging and said Look on us (Acts 3:5-7) they had no money but they gave the man the ability to walk because of faith in Jesus Christ. (Acts of Apostles 20:32) The gospel builds you up, edifies you. The Word of His Grace (gospel) builds you up (the inheritance here is authority/power). When you are down, you need to spend time in God's word. (Acts 8:4-5) Teaching people about Christ - not about philosophies of man - but of Christ for Christ gives you the ability to overcome all challenges. (Colossians 1:4) Faith must be in Christ Jesus - this comes from hearing and studying the gospel (side note: this is the importance of attending church and reading/studying the bible daily) - for it's not our possessions that define us but rather our faith.

It is foolish to be envious of the prosperity of the wicked (Psalms 73:1-3). Don't judge your life by the wicked who can go to any lengths to acquire wealth (Psalms 73:4-5). If you are envious you will not see that they are in trouble. God is not unfair. Psalms 73:6-7 talk about the wicked - the indication that you are maturing in God is not how much you have (for the least in the Kingdom is better off than John the Baptist) (2 Thessalonians 1:3) because your faith - not your money grows exceedingly. There are two signs here that you are maturing. One, have faith in Christ and do not allow the things around you dictate your terms of worship. The second sign is your love for your brethren without condition. (Colossians 1:4) Love shouldn't be conditional on what you have but on your faith in Christ (see also Ephesians 1:15). He that does not love, does not see God.

(1 Peter 1:22) Obeying the truth (Gospel) and having faith in Christ, love of the brethren with a pure heart and without anything attached to it. These two things are the signs that someone is growing in Christ (1 Peter 1:23).

Remember: Give God praise no matter what. (side note: we can't just praise things when things are going our way - that is easy - but praise God in ALL things!)